Tomato sauce

18May08

tomato sauceOne of the joys of coming home is to have this first meal. I always crave for the simple, and usually I end up eating my first meal of pasta with a tomato sauce. I could even do without the tomatoes and then only use anchovies, pepper and some garlic. Of course there is a chunk of Parmesan in the fridge.

Marcella Hazan taught me to make the most simple of tomato sauces. You never have to buy a jar again! Take one tin of plum tomatoes (€0.20, I stock up on these), add a large lump of butter, a pinch of salt, a pinch of sugar, and half an onion (unsliced). Simmer for about half an hour or more. You can add more flavors, like a bit of chopped garlic and a sprig of parsley – but tomatoes, half an onion and butter are the main ingredients. Then mash the tomatoes – I use a potato masher for this – until the sauce is quite chunky. You could put it in a food processor to get a more smooth sauce.

Cook your preferred pasta ( I think I had linguine) and coat it with the sauce, put on a large heap of grated Parmesan and sprinkle on some dried chili flakes and some freshly chopped parsley.

Now try not to think about wonderful Chinese meals.



No Responses Yet to “Tomato sauce”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

